Business and Economy

Types of ISO

ISO is an international organization that aims to generate standards to promote trade between different states. the types of  ISO standards can be classified into:

ISO 9000: these standards are used to manage the quality of production. The standards are known and supported by this organization, but it is administered by other types of institutions that certify it. The standard guarantees that production techniques are followed, but not the quality of the product.
The origins of this rule arose from the military sphere, in order to avoid catastrophes. Therefore, producers had to transcribe the factory process, which would later be approved. Later it would begin to be applied in the electronic industry.

The first publication of the ISO 900 standard was in the late 1980s and was amended in the mid-1990s so that monitoring techniques could be improved and certain documentation requirements could be eliminated.

Certificates are not delivered by ISO, but by other specific organizations. Once the certificate is obtained, it must be updated in certain periods, indicated by the body that issues the certificate.

Although certification helps exchange between countries since it is often used as a requirement, acquiring one of these has certain disadvantages such as bureaucratic pressure and increased expenses. Some of the ISO standards that belong to this family are: ISO 9000: 2000, 9001: 2000, 9004: 2000

ISO 10000: these standards guarantee quality from the management of plans or projects. It has been verified that the efforts have advanced very noticeably, they are even seen as tools that increase competitiveness in a strategic way.

Before the emergence of the ISO, product improvement was through trial and error, once the goods had already been produced. Currently, it is possible to go ahead and avoid the mistake. It is also used to manage economic results on quality and apply ISO 9000 standards.

ISO 14000: these standards are geared towards environmental management. Its purpose is to produce the least amount of damage possible to the environment, thus protecting it from human activities. In addition, a language regarding the environment is generated for those who carry out the efforts, from the government to the industries.
These types of norms do not have a legal nature, therefore they are voluntary norms. Most are only used as a control mechanism.
Some of those that belong to this family are ISO 14002, 14010, 14011,14024, 14050, 14060, among many others.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button