BiologyCBSE Biology Articles


The amphibians belong to the family Chordata in the kingdom Animalia. They are multicellular vertebrates that live on land and in water. There are around 3000 species in this category. These are the first cold-blooded animals to appear on land.


Characteristics of Class Amphibia

  • They can live on land and in water.
  • They are extraterrestrial creatures and are found in warm climates.
  • Their bodies are divided into head and back. It may or may not have a tail.
  • The skin feels smooth and dry without flakes, but with soft glands.
  • They are not bilateral. Unpaired wings may be present.
  • They have two pairs of limbs to move.
  • They breathe through the lungs and skin. Gills may be present externally in some adults.
  • The heart has three chambers.
  • The liver is mesonephric. Urine contains ammonia and urea.
  • They have ten cranial nerves.
  • They have sides during development.
  • Species vary, and reproduction is usually exogenous. However, in salamanders, fertilization is endogenous.
  • Development is not simple with change.
  • Reproduction takes place in water. Orgasm does not occur in men.
  • Like frogs, salamanders.

Classification of Amphibia

  • Apoda means “footless.” These are limbless creatures with scales on their bodies.
  • They are also known as “blind caterpillars” because their eyes are covered with skin and bone.
  • The tentacles on their heads are chemically sensitive organs that help them locate prey underground. For example, the Kesilini

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button